ChangeLog 7.34 KB
Change log for iftop
$Id$

Attributions apply to all preceding items up to the next blank line.
Unattributed items are by Paul Warren and Chris Lightfoot.

1.0

* Remove blinking cursor from UI
    Gerrit Renker <renker@ualberta.ca>

* Treat multicast packets as incoming, rather than incoming (IPv4) or not at
  all (IPv6).
    Andreas Schwab <schwab@linux-m68k.org>

* Minor fixes to the man page
* Man page documentation of -t mode.
* Compile time warning fixes.
    Markus Koschany <apo@gambaru.de>

* Added text output mode (-t option)
    Roman Hoog Antink <rha@open.ch> (originally by Patrik Bless)

* Fix for memory leak when DNS resolution is turned off
  http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=677141
    Olivier Allard-Jacquin <olivieraj@free.fr>

* Various typos in the UI
    Gerben Roest <g.roest@grepit.nl>

* Documentation fixes
    A. Costa <agcosta@gis.net> (via Debian)

* Fix for armeb specific bug
    Lennert Buytenhek <buytenh+debian@wantstofly.org> (via Debian)

* Fix frozen order drives line totals crazy.
    Max Alekseyev <relf@os2.ru> (via Debian)

* Fix for crash on arm.
    Joey Hess <joeyh@debian.org> (via Debian)

* Fixed behaviour of "-b" option.
    Eric Cooper <ecc@cmu.edu> (via Debian)

* Support for PFLOG Interfaces
    Richard Tóth <risko@iklub.sk>

* Support for IPv6
* Fix for performance issue with address hashing
* Fix for failing link address detection for GNU/kfreebsd
* Multiple portability fixes
    Mats Erik Andersson <mats.andersson@gisladisker.se>

* Improved behaviour of sort in sent/recv only mode
    Damián Viano <des@debian.org>

* FreeBSD compilation fix 
* IPv6 reverse resolution
    Frédéric Perrin <frederic.perrin@resel.fr>

* Improved IPv6 code (removed s6_addr32 dependency)
* Fixed support for DLT_NULL
    Scott Bertilson <ssb@umn.edu>

* Typo in usage message
* Workaround for PuTTY issue (https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=546032)
* Updates to licence text (change in FSF address)
* Avoid an assertion failure if an "invalid" (as in outside of IPv4 or IPv6)
  address family is encountered (Red Hat bugs #839750, #847124, #868065, #961236
  and #1007434)
* enable building iftop with more recent versions of autoconf/automake
* patch to remove compile time warnings
* Fix to avoid system call in text mode wherever possible.
    Robert Scheck <robert@fedoraproject.org>

* Attempt to detect if interface is actually up when doing autodetection.
* Fixed segfault when selecting interfaces with empty MAC address (e.g. gprs
  interface on Nokia N900)
    Graham Inggs <graham@nerve.org.za>

* Avoid autodetecting wmaster interfaces
* Experimental support for IEEE802_11 radiotap interfaces (DLT 127)
* Fixed segfault / hang when supplying multiple -i options
* Added missing docs for -m option.

0.17 12/02/06
* Display top scale in bytes when measuring in bytes
    Marcin Kryczek <mkay@gentoo.org>

* Added support for ppp interfaces on FreeBSD (and others using DLT_PPP)

* Fixed segfault bug in config file handling.
* Fixes to man page
    William Robinet <william.robinet@conostix.com>

* Fix for hash table memory handling bug (caused segfaults on Mac OS X)
* Header fixes for Mac OS X
    Ken McLeod <thecloud@apple.com>

* Fixes for compile time errors apparent on Mac OS 10.4.3
    Georg Schwarz <georg.schwarz@freenet.de>

* Improvements to configure to support cross-compilation
* Addition of "NO_SYSTEM" compiler flag to prevent subshell execution
    Tim Freeman <tim@fungible.com>

* Fix to get hardware address on FreeBSD and OpenBSD
    Nicolas Bernard <n.bernard@worldonline.fr>

* Added 802.1q VLAN support
    Jacek Konieczny <jajcus@bnet.pl>

0.16 28/02/04
* Added support for DLT_NULL
* Fix for pthread.c behaviour on Solaris.

* Build fixes for gcc 3.4+
    Henne Vogelsang <hvogel@suse.de>

* Fixed behaviour of -n and -N options
    Klaus Sperner <klaus@heaven.escape.de>

0.15 10/11/03
* Added linear bar scales (default) ("L")
* Added fixed upper limit for bandwidth
* Choose which average bars display ("B")
* Renamed some buttons and command line options
* Added config file support
* Added command line to turn of port resolution ("-N")

* Fixed the search for libpcap in the configure script
    Thomas Schwinge <tschwinge@gmx.net>

* Updated RPM spec file
    Richard Lucassen <spamtrap@lucassen.org>


0.14 06/09/03
* Added forking resolver as fall-back resolver
* Fixed DNS resolution so that no lookups are done if options.dns_resolution ==
  0
* Configure/compilation fixes for Mac OS X 

* MacOS interfaces to avoid by default
    Siri Dhyan Singh <sirid@positivemind.com>

0.13 11/06/03

* Fixed configure.in to properly specify libraries without the leading -l
* Separated the IP/ethernet identifying routine from iftop.c into addrs_ioctl.c
* Added addrs_dlpi.c, dlcommon.c, dlcommon.h to support the STREAMS DataLink
  Programming Interface on Solaris
* Hacked options.h, options.c, iftop.c to enable promiscuous_but_choosy mode
  which runs the interface in promiscuous mode but filters out non-broadcast
  packets not addressed to or from the interface
* Added NEWS, AUTHORS, ChangeLog
* Improved interface auto-detect logic in iftop.c
* Fixed configure.in to not overload prefix in the pcap test section
    Jonathan Abbey <jonabbey@ganymeta.org>

* Made errors during IP/MAC address discovery non-fatal
* Added cummulative line totals ("T")

0.12 21/05/03

* Added 1-line display options ("t")
* Added display scrolling ("j", "k")
* Fixed code for obtaining hardware address (on Linux at least)
* Added IP-based direction assignment

0.11 08/01/03

* Added support for token ring networks
* Token ring network direction determination
    Martin Garton <Martin.Garton@DCSTRANS.COM>

* Added autoconf/automake build system
* Improved network interface auto selection

0.10 29/10/02

* User selectable sort criteria
* On-the-fly filter code changes
* Shell escape
* Alternative resolver back-ends
* Improved totals display
* Added regexp based screen filtering 
* Fixed pause functionality
* Change option names to be more like tcpdump

0.9 22/10/02

* Now works on FreeBSD
* Added service resolution toggle ("R")
* Added on-line help ("h")
* More fixes to rate display
* Improved interface selection (excludes lo:* and vmnet*)
* Added bandwidth-in-bytes option.

0.8 17/10/02

* Added support for displaying port numbers
* Minor fixes to rate display
* Minor fix to netmask handling (specifying /32 was broken)

* Updated RPM spec file 
    Iain Lea <iain@bricbrac.de>

* Added pause functionality (P)
* Changed behaviour of source/dest traffic aggregation

0.7 02/10/02

* Fixed missing sll.h file.

0.6 28/08/02

* Fixed segfault bug affecting some systems

* Added support for Linux cooked sockets
      Michael Bergbauer <michael@noname.franken.de>

0.5 26/08/02

* Added support for monitoring PPP interfaces
* Converted longs to double longs in various places to avoid overflow problems
* Minor bug fixes (usage messages, exit on error)
* Improved selection of default interface when none specified

0.4 16/04/02

* No code changes

* Added RPM spec file
      Riku Meskanen <mesrik@cc.jyu.fi>

* Fixes to "make install"
      Steve Baker <sjb@ambrielconsulting.com>

0.3 13/04/02

* Fixed segfault bug.
* Added src/dest aggregation.

0.2 02/04/02

* Added -n option to analyse traffic flows across a network boundary.
* Added cumulative traffic totals.
* Graphs now optional.
* UI more responsive to key presses.
* Auto-sizing bar graph scale.

0.1 29/3/02

* First release.